School of Biological Sciences

Our staff - Academic Staff

Name Room Phone Email Research
Bishop,Charles Michael Brambell Building,
4th Floor, Room E1

01248

382315

c.bishop@bangor.ac.uk

Physiology and energetics of flight; migration; locomotion biology; behavioural physiology;

morphometrics and allometry.

Braig,Henk Ronald Brambell Building

01248

382354

h.braig@bangor.ac.uk Endosymbionts, parasites, Demodex follicular mites, mite genomics, forensic acarology
Brown, James Memorial Building, F15 01248
383175
j.brown@bangor.ac.uk Graduate Teaching Assistant
Brown,Nigel Howard Treborth Botanic Garden

01248

353398

n.brown@bangor.ac.uk Curator, Treborth Botanic Garden
Carvalho,Gary Robert ECW Building,
3rd floor, Room 303

01248

382100

g.r.carvalho@bangor.ac.uk Molecular ecology and evolutionary biology of aquatic animals.  More details on the MEFGL website
Caspari,Thomas
Manfred Helmut
Brambell Building,
Room D25

01248

382526

t.caspari@bangor.ac.uk

Genome Biology; Cell cycle; Biomedicine; DNA repair; Heat responses;

Environmental causes of cancer; MicroRNA biology

Cha, Rita

Brambell Building

Room 414.2

01248
382865

r.cha@bangor.ac.uk

Signal transduction; Genome stability; Cancer; Meiosis; DNA replication; DNA repair; Homologous recombination.

Creer,Simon ECW Building,
3rd floor

01248
382302

s.creer@bangor.ac.uk

Molecular Ecology; Evolution; Biodiversity; Metagenetics; Metagenomics;

Environmental genomics; Microbial diversity

de Bruyn, Mark ECW Building, 3rd Floor

01248

382344

m.debruyn@bangor.ac.uk

Population genetics, phylogenetics, biogeography, ancient DNA, phylogeography.

More details on the MEFGL website

Dunn, Christian Brambell Building , 4th Floor

01248

382098

c.dunn@bangor.ac.uk

Teaching & Scholarship Lecturer
Fenner,Nathalie Brambell Building,
Room 525

01248

382507

n.fenner@bangor.ac.uk

Aquatic biogeochemistry; Climate change; Carbon stocks; Drinking water quality;

Eutrophication; Lakes; Reservoirs; Wetlands; Isotope ratio mass spectrometry

Fleck, Oliver Brambell Building, Room E1

01248

388189

o.fleck@bangor.ac.uk Genome stability; DNA repair; Cancer; Nucleotide excision repair; Mismatch repair
Fletcher,Jessica Frances Brambell Building,
2nd Floor, Room 304

01248

388071

bssc1c@bangor.ac.uk Graduate Teaching Assistant

Freeman,Christopher

HEAD OF SCHOOL

Brambell Building,
4th floor, Room 511

01248

382353

c.freeman@bangor.ac.uk

Peatland enzymes; Biogeochemistry; Greenhouse gases; Dissolved organic carbon;

Carbon stocks; Drinking water quality; Wetlands

German, Imogen Brambell Building, 4th Floor 01248
382069

i.german@bangor.ac.uk

Graduate Teaching Assistant
Golyshin,Peter ECW Building,
2nd Floor, Room 202

01248

383629

p.golyshin@bangor.ac.uk

Environmental microbiology; (meta)genomics; Microbial adaptation in extreme

environments; Oil biodegradation

Golyshina,Olga ECW second floor

01248

383629

o.golyshina@bangor.ac.uk Environmental microbiology
Hartsuiker,Edgar Brambell Building,
3rd floor, Room D17

01248

382350

e.hartsuiker@bangor.ac.uk DNA repair and cancer
Haswell, Peter

Memorial Building

F15

01248
383175
p.m.haswell@bangor.ac.uk Graduate Teaching Assistant
Hayward, Matthew

Thoday Building,

Room G2A

01248

383642

m.hayward@bangor.ac.uk

Conservation ecology; predator-prey interactions; reintroduction biology; population

dynamics; spatial ecology; intra-guild competition; ecosystem services.
Visit the Conservation@Bangor website

Hughes,Roger Neville ECW Building,
3rd floor

01248

382307

r.n.hughes@bangor.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Zoology. 

Editor of: Oceanography & Marine Biology: an Annual Review; Marine

Ecology progress series; Journal of Experimental Marine Biology & Ecology

Johnson,David Barrie Brambell Building,
Ground Floor, Room 108

01248

382358

d.b.johnson@bangor.ac.uk

Biomining; Bioremediation; Metal recovery & recycling; Microbiology (extremophiles);

Mineral bio-processing

Jones, Katherine Memorial Building

01248

382601

bsse18@bangor.ac.uk

Predator-prey behaviour, variation in prey escape tactics, vigilance, foraging,

behavioural syndromes

Knapp, Michael ECW Building, 3rd Floor, Room 302

01248

382326

m.knapp@bangor.ac.uk

Molecular Ecology, Paleogenetics, Paleoecology, Phylogenetics, population

genetics, ancient DNA, Pleistocene megafaunal extinction, mammal and bird ecology.

Malhotra,Anita ECW  Building,
3rd floor, Room 306

01248

383735

a.malhotra@bangor.ac.uk

Molecular evolution; Natural selection; Molecular ecology; Asian pitvipers;

Honeybee genetics; Phylogenetics; Phospholipase A2 toxins

McDonald,James Memorial Building,
Room F6

01248

383077

j.mcdonald@bangor.ac.uk

Environmental microbiology; Microbial ecology; Microbial Ecology;

Molecular biology; Genomics; Transcriptomics; Biotechnology

McFarlane,Ramsay James Brambell Building,
Room 405

01248

382360

r.macfarlane@bangor.ac.uk Cancer/stem cell genome dynamics; Cancer biomarkers; Meiotic recombination
Mulley,John Frederick Brambell Building,
3rd floor, Room D15

01248

383492

j.mulley@bangor.ac.uk Vertebrate genomics; Development and Evolution
Pryce,David Warren Brambell Building

01248

382363

d.w.pryce@bangor.ac.uk Immunology; Autoimmunity; Cancer biomarkers
Robinson,Rosanna Lesley Memorial Building

01248

383696

r.l.robinson@bangor.ac.uk Teaching & Scholarship Lecturer
Shirsat,Anil Harishchandra Memorial Building,
Room F20

01248

382323

a.h.shirsat@bangor.ac.uk  
Thorpe,Roger Stephen ECW Building,
3rd Floor

01248

382312

r.thorpe@bangor.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor

Natural selection, speciation, molecular phylogeny, evolution (snakes and lizards)

Tomos,A Deri Thoday Building,
Room G5

01248

382362

a.d.tomos@bangor.ac.uk

Plant physiological stress; Plant-soil interactions; Water relations;

Growth-biophysics; Phytochemistry

Turner,George Francis Memorial Building,
Room G24

01248

382349

george.turner@bangor.ac.uk

Speciation; Cichlid fish; Behaviour; Evolution; Adaptive radiation;

Malawi; Tanzania

Wakeman,Jane Brambell Building

01248

382341

j.a.wakeman@bangor.ac.uk  
Webster,Simon George Brambell Building,
Room D28

01248

382308

s.g.webster@bangor.ac.uk Crustacean-biology.  More details on the Crustaecian Biology website
Whiteley,Nia Mererid Brambell Building,
Room E26

01248

388080

n.m.whiteley@bangor.ac.uk

Environmental physiology; growth and metabolism; thermal biology;

climate change and ocean acidification

Williams,Hugh Merfyn Brambell Building,
Room 304

01248

388071

merf.williams@bangor.ac.uk Extended spectrum beta lactamase in Gram negative bacteria
Wuster,Wolfgang ECW Building,
3rd floor, Room 307

01248

382301

w.wuster@bangor.ac.uk

Herpetology; Snakes; Venom evolution; Toxinology; Systematics;

Taxonomy; Biogeography; Phylogeography; Ecology

Site footer