Coronavirus (Covid-19) Information

2008 Honorary Fellows

An Honorary Fellowship is the highest honour that the University can bestow. Such honours are considered by the University as an opportunity to recognise a distinguished contribution made by individuals in various walks of life. These individuals normally have a connection with the University or with North Wales.

Those who received Honorary Fellowships in 2008 were:

Peter Bennett-Jones (Chair of Tiger Aspect Television) -- for services to television and the film industry

Guto Harri (former BBC correspondent, currently Communications Director to Mayor of London, Boris Johnson) -- for services to television journalism

Griff Rhys Jones (television presenter) -- for services to broadcasting

Juan Carlos Castilla (Professor of Marine Ecology, Chile) -- for services to science

Sian Lloyd (television weather presenter) - for services to the media and charities

Gwilym Owen (journalist and broadcaster) -- for services to Welsh journalism

Meic Povey (actor and playwright) -- for services to Welsh drama

Jim Perrin (rock climber and travel writer) - for services to mountaineering

Rev Elfed ap Nefydd Roberts (retired Presbyterian Minister and author) -- for services to the study of Theology

The Rt Hon Lord Justice John Thomas (Judge of the Court of Appeal) -- for services to the Law inaugural Law School lecture

Rhodri Glyn Thomas A.M. (Welsh Assembly Minister for Heritage) -- for services to politics in Wales

Llŷr Williams (renowned pianist) -- for services to Music