Coronavirus (Covid-19) Information

2011 Honorary Fellows

Welsh singing sensation, Duffy was among the list of individuals to receive an Honorary Fellowship from Bangor University in 2011.

Honorary Fellowships are awarded to recognise a distinguished contribution made by individuals in various walks of life. These individuals normally have a connection with the University or with North Wales.

Those who received fellowships in 2011 are;                           

Bangor graduate Paul Feeney. A leading international investment strategist with BNY Mellon Asset Management, Paul Feeney received an Honorary Fellowship for his services to the financial services industry. He was introduced by Professor Phil Molyneux, Head of the College of Business, Social Sciences & Law.

received an Honorary Fellowship for her services to Music. In 2009, Duffy won a Grammy Award for the best Pop Vocal Album and three Brit Awards. She is the first Welsh female recording artist to reach no 1 in the UK for over 25 years. Her 2008 debut album Rockferry entered the UK album chart at No 1 and has sold over two million copies. She was born and brought up in Nefyn in Gwynedd.  She was introduced by Dr Llion Jones.

Rhys Jones, MBE received an Honorary Fellowship for services to Music and the Community and was presented by Mr Wyn Thomas, Pro Vice Chancellor.  Rhys Jones trained as a teacher at the Coleg Normal and taught Music and became deputy head of Ysgol Maes Garmon, Mold. He has become renowned as a teacher, conductor, accompanist, compere and broadcaster. He has founded and led many a choir and party, in particular Cantorion Gwalia, famed throughout Wales from the 50s to the 90s. This is the first time that the University awarded an Honorary Fellowships to a father and daughter, as his daughter, Caryl Parry Jones, is already an Honorary Fellow of Bangor University.

Professor Laura McAllister, was introduced by Dr Nichola Callow, of the School of Sport, Health & Exercise Sciences, and received an Honorary Fellowship for her services to Sport in Higher Education. Professor McAllister is Professor of Governance at Liverpool University and a leading authority on Welsh politics. Laura McAllister is also a former Wales football international (24 caps), and Chair of Sport Wales. She is a Board member of the Welsh Football Trust and an external advisor to Bangor University Sports and Recreation Strategy.

Prof Gwyn Thomas is a Bangor graduate and former Professor of Welsh at the University. Professor Thomas will receive an Honorary Fellowship for his services to Welsh Literature. He will be presented by current Head of the School of Welsh, Professor Peredur Lynch.  A native of Blaenau Ffestiniog, Prof Thomas is a renowned poet and literary critic, and was National Poet of Wales in 2006/7.

John Herbert, Earl of Powis received an Honorary fellowship for his services to  literary studies and was introduced by Prof Helen Wilcox of the School of English. The Earl of Powis isa descendant of the Welsh-born poet, George Herbert, one of the most renowned pastoral and religious poets of the seventeenth century. He is also a descendant of the first President of Bangor University. A former university teacher and researcher, he has collaborated extensively with academics in the University’s School of English.

Anglesey-born film and TV actor Julian Lewis Jones received an Honorary Fellowship for his services to drama. He was introduced by Professor Stephanie Marriott of the School of Media and Creative Industries.  Julian Lewis Jones has starred in the 2009 Clint Eastwood film, Invictus, and in numerous TV dramas, including The Bill, Casualty, Holby City and Spooks – as well as Caerdydd and Tipyn o Stad on S4C.