Coronavirus (Covid-19) Information

Honorary Fellows 2014

In 2014, Bangor University awarded Honorary Fellowships to the following distinguished individuals.

Professor Anthony Edward Hill OBE– for services to Marine Science
Executive Director, National Oceanography Centre, Southampton University; former postgraduate student and member of staff at Bangor.

Beti George – for service to Welsh broadcasting
Welsh Language TV news reader and broadcaster for 30 years:

Professor Emeritus Robert Owen Jones OBE – for service to the promotion of the Welsh Language in Patagonia
Retired Professor of Welsh from Cardiff University; Bangor graduate who began his academic career at Bangor. Awarded OBE in 2012 for promoting and revitalizing the Welsh language in Patagonia.

David & Alison Lea-Wilson – for service to business in North Wales
Founders of Anglesey Sea Zoo and of Halen Môn; local entrepreneurs who have a long association with the University

Professor Andrew McNeillie – for services to publishing

Emeritus Professor of English at Exeter University; former Literature Editor at the Oxford University Press. Born and brought up in Colwyn Bay and Llandudno.

Dei Tomos – for services to Welsh broadcasting
BBC Radio Cymru presenter whose early morning farming bulleting has run for 25 years. Ex-Coleg Normal student.

George NorthProfessor Donal T Manahan – for services to Science
Professor of Biological Sciences, University of Southern California; Chief Scientist for over 20 scientific expeditions to the Antarctic – has a mountain peak named after him. PhD graduate from Bangor.

George North – for services to Sport
Wales and British & Irish Lions rugby player; brought up on Anglesey and attended Ysgol Bodedern; the youngest player ever to score a try on his debut for Wales

Rhys Meirion – for services to Music

Welsh opera singer who has enjoyed international success; born and brought up in Tremadog, Gwynedd.

Huw Edwards – for services to journalism and broadcasting
Presenter, BBC Ten O’Clock News, and other programmes

Professor Jean White – for services to Nurse Education
Chief Nursing Officer for Wales since 2010; has made a significant contribution to the health and professional agenda in Wales and internationally; has been an excellent supporter of the work of our School of Healthcare Sciences.