Coronavirus (Covid-19) Information

Honorary Fellows 2016

In 2016, Bangor University awarded Honorary Fellowships to the following distinguished individuals.

Major General Susan Ridge, for services to Law.
Major General Susan Ridge is the highest ranking female within the British Armed Forces. She graduated from Bangor University with a History degree in 1984. 

Rhian Huws-Williams, for her services to social work.
Following gaining her first degree and professional social work qualification at Bangor University, Chief Executive of the Welsh Care Council, Rhian Huws-Williams has over 30 years’ experience in the social services field in Wales.

Ruth Hussey CB OBE, for her services to Medical Sciences.
Former Chief Medical Officer and Medical Director NHS, Wales.

Glyn Watkin Jones or his services to industry. 
Local development and construction company Watkin Jones & Son Ltd can trace its history back to 1791 and was responsible for laying the foundation stone of Bangor University in 1907. Watkin Jones & Son Ltd was owned and managed by the founding family, with Glyn as Chairman, up to its successful floatation on the Alternative Investment Market in March this year.

His Excellency Rasheed Mohammed Al Maraj for his services to banking.
The Governor of the Central Bank of Bahrain H.E. Rasheed Mohammed Al Maraj has been Governor of the Central Bank of Bahrain (CBB), since January 2005. As Governor, H.E Al Maraj carries ministerial ranking and is the chief executive of the CBB, which is responsible for ensuring monetary and financial stability in Bahrain. The CBB is also the single regulator of Bahrain’s financial services industry. HE Al Maraj is also a Board member of the Bahrain Institute of Banking and Finance, of which Bangor University is a contributing learning partner.

John Meirion Morris, for services to the arts.
Eleven busts of famous Welsh people by one of Wales’ most eminent sculptors, John Meirion Morris are now held in the National Library of Wales’ arts collection. Amongst his most well-known works relating to Bangor University are his bust of Emeritus Professor Gwyn Thomas, the bust of late Professor Bedwyr Lewis Jones which stands at the entrance to the Prichard Jones Hall at Bangor University and, most recently, the bust of Bob Owen, Croesor, which can be seen in the University’s Shankland Library.

Elin Manahan Thomas

Professor Merfyn Jones, CBE, for services to the University.
Former Vice-Chancellor of Bangor University and historian specialising in modern and contemporary Welsh history, Professor Jones has made several TV documentaries. He joined Bangor University in 1990 as a senior lecturer in history. He became head of the School of Welsh History in 1993 and was appointed to the Chair in Welsh History in 1994. He served as Dean of Arts and Social Sciences for two years before being appointed Pro-Vice Chancellor in 1998. He was appointed as the sixth vice-chancellor of the University on 1 August 2004.

Elin Manahan Thomas, for her services to music.  
Renowned operatic soprano of her generation.

J.O Roberts and Nia Roberts. J.O Roberts for his contribution to drama and Nia Roberts for her contribution to broadcasting
Broadcaster Nia, who is a familiar and regular presenter on S4C, and father, J O Roberts has acted on the stage and screen as an amateur and then as a professional actor, after taking early retirement from the Coleg Normal.

Professor John Porter, for his services to science.
An internationally renowned scientist who collated an important part of the latest Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Changes (IPCC AR5 Food Security and Food Production Systems) report. John Porter, who is a Professor at both the University of Copenhagen and the University of Greenwich, graduated from Bangor University in 1976 and gained a PhD in 1981.

Professor John Wingfield for his services to Science.
Professor Wingfield is an environmental endocrinologist at the University of California and an influential figure in US research funding. In 2011 he became the National Science Foundation Assistant Director for the Directorate of Biological Sciences.