Coronavirus (Covid-19) Information

Bangor University contributes to first Science Advisory Council for Wales

Professor Sian HopeProfessor Sian HopeProfessor Sian Hope, Executive Director of Innovation and Professor of Computer Science at bangor University and a Director of RIVIC (Research Institute for Visual Computing Wales) has been appointed an inaugural member of the Science Advisory Council for Wales (SACW) by the Chief Scientific Adviser for Wales, Professor John Harries.

She and Professor Bridget Emmett, an Honorary Research Fellow at Bangor University and Head of Site, Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (NERC), Bangor are among the 17 distinguished experts appointed to the Council.  It will report and provide advice to the Chief Scientific Adviser for Wales on a full range of science, technology, engineering and mathematics issues. SACW will also consider the overall view of science being deployed to assist Wales’s economic and social progress and represent the highest level of independent scientific advice to the Welsh Assembly Government.

Professor Sian Hope said: “The Science Advisory Council will advise on all issues where science and technology have an impact on Wales; this includes the economic regeneration and the quality of life for people of the nation and I am honoured and delighted to play a part in this vital task,” .

Lesley Griffiths, Deputy Minister for Science, Innovation and Skills, has welcomed the appointments.
“Science and technology are key subjects with a vital role to play in developing and building the future economy and prosperity of Wales. This new independent Advisory Council will provide expert guidance and advice to help us achieve our vision.

“I would like to express my gratitude to the distinguished panel of prominent  and acknowledged experts who have agreed to serve on the new Science Advisory Council for Wales.”
Professor Harries said:

"This is a very exciting development for Wales, and for me.  I will be working closely with colleagues on the new Council to identify excellent science and technology in Welsh universities, industry, government and the 3rd sector, which will underpin future R&D, innovation and economic development.  It will be an honour to work with this group of top class scientists and engineers that form the inaugural Science Advisory Council for Wales."

The new Council will be chaired by the Chief Scientific Adviser, and will include an independent co-chair, Professor Chris Pollock (the former Director of the Institute of Grassland & Environmental Research in Aberystwyth).  It reports directly to Professor Harries, rather than to Ministers and the appointments are unpaid.

Publication date: 24 November 2010