Teaching Awards

The University gives a high priority to making sure that teaching excellence is not only developed and accredited, but also recognised and rewarded. There are currently three main schemes which aim to support this principle.

National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS)

This highly prestigious UK-wide scheme recognises and rewards excellent learning and teaching, with up to 55 awards made on an annual basis to eligible higher education providers in England, Northern Ireland, Wales and Scotland. Four Bangor colleagues have won this prestigious award in the last three consecutive years, which represents 40% of all the NTFs awarded in the whole of Wales to date.

Funded by the Higher Education Funding Council for England, the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales and the Department for Employment and Learning in Northern Ireland, National Teaching Fellowships are the most prestigious awards that can be bestowed on those involved in teaching or supporting teaching in higher education. Each eligible higher education provider can only nominate up to three of its learning and teaching staff for consideration per year.

The awards are very competitive and require an intensive period of work on the application statement during the autumn period. However, as we have plenty of experience of winning this award, support is on hand to help our nominees develop their submissions.

A Claim for Fellowship consists of a 5,000 word narrative statement of how the individual demonstrates excellence relevant to three headline criteria

Individual excellence

Evidence of enhancing and transforming the student learning experience commensurate with the individual’s context and the opportunities afforded by it.

Raising the profile of excellence

Evidence of supporting colleagues and influencing support for student learning; demonstrating impact and engagement beyond the nominee’s immediate academic or professional role.

Developing excellence

Evidence of the nominee’s commitment to her/his on-going professional development with regard to teaching and learning and/or learning support.

The submission round for NTFS 2015 is now over and once again we have three strong nominees awaiting the result in June. Fingers crossed!

If you would like to be considered as a Bangor nominee for next year’s round please contact the Head of CPD (T&L) for informal discussion and advice. sue.clayton@bangor.ac.uk Tel: 01248 (38) 2640

For details of the scheme and the kind of profile required please follow the link below: https://www.heacademy.ac.uk/professional-recognition/awards/national-teaching-fellowship-scheme-ntfs

Bangor Teaching Fellowships

The University Teaching Fellowships are awarded each year to promote, reward and celebrate excellence in teaching and related activities that support and enhance the Bangor student experience.


  • To recognise the importance of excellent teaching, of enhancing students’ learning experience and of the support provided to students.
  • To celebrate the University’s commitment to teaching excellence and student support.


Any member of Teaching staff who contributes to teaching and learning in any School is eligible to be nominated. Because of the evidence-base required to support nominations, it is not expected that staff are nominated within the first 3 years of their appointment as teaching staff.

Please read the Notes of Guidance for full details of eligibility and advice on submitting a nomination.

Further information and how to apply is here:


Academy of Teaching Fellows

Once awarded, Teaching Fellows are invited to join the Bangor Academy of Teaching Fellows (ATF). Please contact the current Chair of the Academy of Teaching Fellows, Ms. Penny Dowdney, for further information on the work of the ATF. p.j.dowdney@bangor.ac.uk

Bangor Student – Led Teaching Awards (SLTAs)

The successful annual Student-Led Teaching Awards is a scheme run jointly between the Students’ Union and the University. In an event attended by over 200 people this scheme confers 15 awards given to a wide range of staff across specific categories.

Details of this scheme can be found here