About us

CAWMS was founded in 1994 John Harper. It is one of four recognized Centres of Excellence within the School of Music at Bangor, and is administered through the School.

Other Bangor scholars associated with the Centre are:

Honorary Research Fellow of CAWMS:

Mr Paul Whittaker

Bangor Postgraduates working in associated areas:

  • David R. Jones - W. S. Gwynn Williams
  • Gorwel Owen - Technology and local music-making in the 21st century
  • Gwawr Jones
  • Mared Emlyn       

The Centre also collaborates with colleagues in the Schools of Welsh, History, Welsh History & Archaeology, English, Linguistics and English Language and Creative Studies and Media.