BBC NOW: New World Symphony

Prichard-Jones Hall, Bangor University
Friday 22 November 2019, 19:30–21:30

Conductor Clemens Schuldt 
Violin Aleksey Semenenko 
Brahms Violin Concerto in D Major 
Dvořák Symphony No.9 'From the New World' 

Brahms and Dvorak bring a love of the past and a quest for the new to works that show them at the peak of their powers.

Brahms' violin concerto is shot through with light and warmth as the composer is inspired by the Italian sun and hearty dances he played with his Hungarian violinist friend in his twenties. Dvorak, meanwhile, embarks on the greatest adventure of his life in New York, embracing new American sounds while never forgetting the beauty of his beloved Bohemia. His final symphony is enriched by both worlds.