Employability Celebration Event 2019

An annual Employability Celebration event was held in Pontio on Tuesday, 30th April to congratulate and showcase Bangor University students who have taken part in the Bangor Employability Award and University internship schemes, and demonstrated exceptional commitment to developing their employability through extra-curricular activities whilst at University.

Students gave presentations about their experiences of developing their employability at University, and what they have gained from participating in extra-curricular activities and work experience. Student presenters included Raja Asad (Business), Megan Owen (Electronic Engineering), Gabriele Radzeviciute (Geography), and Fazeelat Hamid (Medical Sciences). A recent graduate working for Menter Môn, Danial Ellis Evans, also gave a presentation about his experiences during his first year after graduating.

Chris Little, Head of Skills and Employability said, “It’s a great event for students to be congratulated for their hard work and dedication to developing their skills and employability. The diversity of interests of students taking part showcases the breadth of opportunities that there are available for students studying at Bangor University to prepare themselves for graduate employment”. 

Employability Excellence Awards were also awarded to students that had been nominated either by their academic schools, Students’ Union, or internship supervisors.

The employer award was presented to M-SParc for their commitment to offering internships, work placements and enterprise support to Bangor University students and graduates. Pryderi ap Rhisiart, Managing Director of M-SParc, was at the event to accept the award.

Full list of award winners:

Employability Excellence Award Winners:

Chloe Brindley, School of Psychology

Fazeelat Hamid, School of Medical Sciences

Gabriele Radzeviciute, School of Natural Sciences

Jemima Letts, School of Natural Sciences

Alistair O’Mahoney, School of Music and Media

Undergraduate Internship Scheme Award:

Mary Thornhill, School of Natural Sciences

Raja Asad, Bangor Business School

Postgraduate Excellence Award:

Gehad Medhat Ibrahim, School of Music and Media

Enterprise and Innovation Award:

Jemima Letts, School of Natural Sciences

Ben Simmonds, Business School (runner up)

Undeb Bangor Award:

Ben Exton, School of Natural Sciences

Employer Award:


Photos from the evening can be found on the Skills and Employability Service Facebook page

Publication date: 3 May 2019