# **Bangor University**

#### **COUNCIL MINUTES**

At a meeting of the Council held in the University on Friday, 30 October 2020.

#### Present:

Mrs Marian Wyn Jones (Chair), Professor Nicky Callow, Professor Iwan Davies, Dr Myfanwy Davies, Professor Andrew Edwards, Mr Iwan Evans, Dr Griff Jones, Dr Llion Jones, Mr Marc Jones, Sir Paul Lambert, Ms. Ellen Parry Williams, Miss Julie Perkins, Dr Ian Rees, Professor Gareth Roberts, Professor Paul Spencer, Professor Oliver Turnbull, Mr Henry Williams, Mr Tudur Williams, the Chief Operating Officer / University Secretary, the Director of Human Resources, the Director of Property and Campus Services, the Interim Director of Finance and Mrs Gwenan Hine (Secretary).

## **Apologies:**

Dr Tomos Dafydd, Dr Karen Jones and Mrs Alison Lea-Wilson.

Comments were provided to the Secretary by Mrs Lea-Wilson prior to the meeting.

### 20.22 MEMBERSHIP OF THE COUNCIL

- A. The Council were informed that there were currently three vacancies for independent members on the Council following the resignation of Dr Peter Higson, and Ms Ellen Parry Williams' and Mr Tomos Dafydd's terms of office coming to an end on 31 October 2020. Following a recruitment exercise, facilitated by recruitment consultants, a short-listing process followed by interviews were undertaken during October 2020. It was noted that the interview panel consisted of the Chair and Deputy Chairs of Council, the Chair of Audit & Risk Committee, the Vice-Chancellor and the Chief Operating Officer / University Secretary.
- B. Following the interview process the Council was invited to appoint the following individuals as independent members of Council for an initial period of 4 years. Pen portraits for the three individuals were provided to members:
  - Mr Atul Devani, Non-Executive Chairman of Maven Income and Growth VC3 PLC;
  - Mr Eric Hepburn CBE, Honorary Fellow of Bangor University and Director of Security for Parliament, Houses of Parliament; and
  - Mr Kailesh Karavadra, Honorary Fellow of Bangor University and Strategic Growth Markets Leader for the West Region, Ernst & Young.
- C. Following due consideration, the Council **approved** the appointment of all three individuals as independent members, for an initial period from 1 November 2020 to 31 October 2024.

- D. In addition, the Council were apprised that Dr Karen Jones' second, and maximum, term of office would finish on 31 October 2021. Due to the strong field of candidates put forward during the recruitment exercise the Council were invited to appoint an additional individual to replace Dr Jones in due course as an independent member of Council. A pen portrait was provided to members:
  - Professor Jean White CBE, Chief Nursing Officer, Welsh Government
- E. Following due consideration, the Council **approved** the appointment of Professor White as an independent member for an initial period from 1 November 2021 to 31 October 2025. In addition, the Council **approved** the recommendation that Professor White joining Council meetings in July and September 2021 as an observer, prior to joining as a full independent member in November 2021.