News and Events

Film actor, Rhys Ifans among University's Honorary Fellows!

Publication date: 17/07/2007

Mingling with successful graduates and their families at Bangor University's Graduation festivities this week are stars of film and concert stage, the race track and the wide outdoors!

On Monday 16 July, north Walian born film and stage actor Rhys Ifans, who became a household name after his role in the film, Notting Hill, joined graduates to receive his Honorary Fellowship for services to the film industry. In the same ceremony, Dr Owain Arwel Hughes OBE. Principal Associate Conductor of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, and founder of the 'Welsh Proms' received his Honorary Fellowship for services to Music.

Tuesday's graduates share their ceremonies with David Richards CBE, Emeritus Professor J Gwynn Williams CBE and Siân James. David Richards CBE, is Winner of the 1981 World Rally Championship and now Chairman & Chief Executive of the Prodrive Group; a native of Ruthin and receives his award For services to sport and business. During the afternoon ceremony, Welsh traditional and folk singer and musician and Bangor graduate, Siân James, receives an Honorary Fellowship for her services to the performing arts. She will be joined by Professor Emeritus J Gwynn Williams, CBE, Bangor graduate and former professor of Welsh History and former Vice-Principal of the University, who is honoured for his services to the study of history.

On Wednesday Dr David Pritchard and Dr E J. J. Davies OBE join the celebrations. Dr E.J.J. Davies is a retired medical practitioner from Denbighshire and medical historian. He receives his Fellowship for services to the community. Recently retired Medical Director of the North West Wales NHS Trust, Dr David Pritchard becomes an Honorary Fellow of the University, in honour of his services to medical education.

On Thursday, BBC presenter and nature expert Iolo Williams joins graduates to become an Honorary Fellow, for his services to the study of wildlife. As does Bangor graduate, Dr Owen T. Jones; managing director and founder of Ambiensis Ltd., an agro-environmental technology company. He receives his Fellowship for his services to science and Industry. In the afternoon, Professor Stefan Rahmstorf, a Bangor post-graduate student, and Professor of Physics of the Oceans at Potsdam University and a member of the intergovernmental panel on Climate Change receives a fellowship for his services to environmental science.

Honorary Fellowship are the highest honour that the University can bestow and are awarded to people who have links with Wales or the University who have made a significant mark in their chosen field.

"Our Honorary Fellows are drawn from a broad range of professions and careers, but each has made his or her own distinguished contribution, enriching their chosen field. We are delighted to be able to recognise talent and success," said Dr. David Roberts, Registrar.

Nine members of University staff will receive Teaching Fellowships during this year's ceremonies. They are: Ms. Penny Downdey, ELCOS, Dr. Chris Collins, Music, Prof. John Goddard, Bangor Business School, Dr. Laura Rorato, Modern Languages, Ms. Marilyn Haydn Jones & Mrs. Gwawr Maelor Williams, Education, Mrs. Delyth Murphy, Lifelong Learning, Dr. Andy Yule & Dr. John Turner, School of Ocean Sciences.

"Once again, the Committee received a large number of nominations from students and staff for Teaching Fellows. This truly reflects the culture of our institution, which places such importance on both excellent teaching and student care," said Dr Ioan Ap Dewi, Academic Registrar.

The teaching Fellowship acknowledges outstanding teaching and student support. As well as the accolade itself, teaching Fellows receive a citation and certificate and a £1,000 award. They also join the University's Academy of Teaching Fellows which exists to share and disseminate best practice throughout the institution.

Site footer