Coronavirus (Covid-19) Information

Student Led Teaching Awards 2012

Over Two hundred students, course representatives and University staff came together recently to celebrate Bangor’s first Student Led Teaching Awards.

Bangor Students’ Union successfully bid for funding to take part in a pilot supported by the National Union of Students (NUS) and the Higher Education Academy (HEA).

“When we saw the project advertised, we thought it was a great idea” explains Danielle Buckley, Vice President Education and Welfare at Bangor Students’ Union.

“A strong feature of our application was that we wanted to run this initiative in partnership with the University and we were delighted with the positive response that we received, first from Professor Colin Baker and Professor Carol Tully, and then from the Academic Schools and ultimately from students.”

One of 21 successful project bids nationwide, the awards were part-funded through the NUS/HEA partnership and match-funded by Bangor University.

 “We wanted the awards to be genuinely student-led” explains Danielle “so we set up a project steering group and invited practising course representatives to sit on it. They decided the awards, the criteria and ultimately chose the winners. It was an incredibly difficult job to choose who won because the standard of nomination was so high. Students were rightly passionate about excellent teaching and support”.

Over 300 different nominations were submitted by students on behalf of 180 different members of staff representing all of the University’s Academic Schools. The nomination process was completed online through the Students’ Union’s website,, and a full list of award categories, criteria and winners are available on the website.

All short-listed members of staff were invited to the awards dinner and were presented with a certificate and a mug recognising their achievement. Additionally, the winner of each category received an engraved glass trophy, presented by Professor Colin Baker, Pro-Vice Chancellor for Teaching and Learning.

"Rarely has there been such strong applause, warmth of appreciation, and so much enjoyment of a student-staff event in the PJ Hall. For everybody, this was an event to be remembered forever." Professor Colin Baker.

All indications suggest that the NUS/HEA support will continue past this year and the Students’ Union is already making plans to run the awards again next year. The expectation is that this project will grow and grow.

"The Students' Union made this event an outstanding innovation. It was so well received by students and staff alike that this has to become an annual event for decades to come." Professor Carol Tully.

Student Led Teaching Awards 2012: Winners

Award for Outstanding Pastoral Support
Revd Kenneth Padley

Award for the Promotion of Welsh-Medium Education
Mr Elwyn Hughes, Head of Welsh for Adults Unit, School of Lifelong Learning

International Award
Ms Manuela Vittori - Welfare Officer, International Student Welfare

Green Award
Mr Ricky Carter - Environmental Officer, Estates Department

Dissertation / Thesis Supervisor of the Year
Prof Helen Wilcox - Professor of English, School of English

Innovation Award
Dr Jesse Martin - Senior Lecturer, School of Psychology

Support Staff Member of the Year
Paul Kennedy - Research Officer, School of Ocean Sciences

Student Service Department Award
Miles Dyslexia Centre

Postgraduate Teacher of the Year 
Ms Sian Beidas - School of Modern Languages

Postgraduate Teacher of the Year           
Prof Jerry Hunter - Professor of Welsh, School of Welsh

New Teacher of the Year                            
Dr Andy Webb - Lecturer in English, School of English

Teacher of the Year                                       
Dr Fay Short - Lecturer, School of Psychology

Equality & Liberation Champion              
Dr James Intriligator - Senior Lecturer, School of Psychology

Outstanding Contribution Award            
Ms Steph Barbaresi - Assistant Registrar, Academic Registry

Outstanding Contribution Award            
Ms Hazel Frost - Clerical Assistant, School of Psychology

Publication date: 30 May 2012