Student Led Teaching Awards 2014

Bangor Students’ Union held its third Student Led Teaching Awards (SLTA) in the PJ Hall recently, together with the Course Representative Awards.

Students were given the opportunity to nominate any member of staff in a range of categories from “Support Staff Member of the Year” to “Teacher of the Year” and nearly 300 nominations were received, spanning the full range of staff positions and departments. 

Rhys Taylor, Bangor Students’ Union Vice President for Education & Welfare, said: “It is great to see so many different names coming up year after year and how passionate students are about their teaching and learning experiences. The Student Led Teaching Awards is very quickly becoming an established event in the University calendar and the SU is extremely keen to ensure this project continues to grow. Congratulations to all winners and a massive thank you to the SLTA’s student panel, without whom we could not have done these Awards.”

Professor Carol Tully, Pro Vice Chancellor said: “The SLTAs have been a great success again this year and really emphasise the great work done by staff across the University. The nominations were both inspiring and moving and it was wonderful to see so many people recognised for their sterling work.'

Congratulations to our highly deserving winners for 2014:

The Award for Outstanding Pastoral Support:  Sian Pierce, School of Environment, Natural Resources and Geography

The Award for the Promotion of Welsh Medium Education: Peredur Webb-Davies, School of Linguistics and English Language

Dissertation/Thesis Supervisor of the Year: Martina Feilzer, School of Social Sciences

Fantastic Feedback: Gwyn Ellis, School of Education

Innovation Award: Lynda Yorke, School of Environment, Natural Resources and Geography

International Award: Monalisa Odibo, Warden Team

New Teacher of the Year – Farhaan Wali, School of Philosophy and Religion

Open Award: Gavan Cooke, School of Biological Sciences

Postgraduate Teacher of the Year: Sarah Cooper, School of Linguistics and English Language

Student Service Department Award: Counselling Service

Support Staff Member/Team of the Year: Sian Lewis, School of Psychology

Sustainable Thinking: Helen Gittins, James Walmsley & Nicola Owen, School of Environment, Natural Resources and Geography

Teacher of the Year: Mari Wiliam, School of History, Welsh History and Archaeology

Photos from the evening can be viewed here.

Publication date: 12 May 2014