Archive of the month

The Archive of the Month feature raises awareness amongst students and staff about the variety of material that we hold. In particular, the old Bangor photographs appear to spark a lot of interest and debate on the University’s Facebook pages.

Every month, an item is selected to be showcased. The item is scanned and a short piece of text written about its history.

February 2017

Illustration, by J.J. Dodd, depicting the Siliwen open-air swimming Baths, formerly located in upper Bangor.

Originally established in 1856 by private owners, the Baths were later purchased and renovated by the local council who saw their potential as a tourist attraction. Changing huts were built and modifications were made to the shoreline in order to facilitate swimming. Although popular with the locals, they were not without issue. Due to the nature of their design, their use was limited to the hours around high-tide, and the natural environment of the Menai Straits meant that they had a tendency to accumulate mud and slime.  

After the huts were damaged during a storm in 1899, the council resolved to rectify these problems and, in 1902, the baths reopened, featuring improved facilities and permitting the practice of mixed bathing. 

In 1958, declining public interest and an increase in the levels of water pollution in the straits led to the spot’s closure. In replacement, the council commissioned an indoor facility, located on Garth Road, which opened to the public in October 1966, and remains there to this day.

 

This “Archive of the Month” was created by Callum Parry

 

Click on the links below to view all our showcased documents.

2017
February
July
September
October
November
December

 

2016
-

 

2015
-

 

2014

 

  • April 2013
  • May 2013
  • June 2013
  • July 2013
  • August 2013
  • October 2013
  • November 2013
  • December 2013