Archive of the month

The Archive of the Month feature raises awareness amongst students and staff about the variety of material that we hold. In particular, the old Bangor photographs appear to spark a lot of interest and debate on the University’s Facebook pages.

Every month, an item is selected to be showcased. The item is scanned and a short piece of text written about its history.

January 2017

This rare photograph of a man standing outside Penrallt in Upper Bangor is to be found among the Penrhyn Castle Papers at the University Archives.

The photographer was C. Richard of High Street, Bangor and written underneath the photograph is, ‘‘Penrallt, The Property of Lord Penrhyn with the respectful compliments of the Tenants”.

In 1902 George Sholto Gordon, the second Lord Penrhyn, sold Penrallt house and surrounding land to Bangor City Council. In 1904, this land, along with part of the Bishop’s estate, was presented by the City Council to the University College of North Wales and the site became the College’s permanent home.

According to the historian, J. Gwynn Williams, in 1907, when King Edward VII visited Bangor and laid the foundation-stone for the new University College of North Wales building, “Many sought a vantage point on the crags above the town and on the plateau below Penrallt, where the ash, beech, maple and oak grew, there was a clearing for one thousand two hundred children ready to form a living Union Jack.”

It is believed that Penrallt house used to be located where the tower of the main University building now stands. The road which leads from College Road past the University’s Brigantia building is called Penrallt Road.

 

This “Archive of the Month” was created by our Archives Assistant, Nesta Roberts.

 

Click on the links below to view all our showcased documents.

2017
July
September
October
November
December

 

2016
-

 

2015
-

 

2014

 

  • April 2013
  • May 2013
  • June 2013
  • July 2013
  • August 2013
  • October 2013
  • November 2013
  • December 2013