Duffy joins Bangor University graduates in celebration


Over two thousand students will graduate from Bangor University in twelve ceremonies, running over six days this week (9-15 July 2011). The students will be joined by friends and family as they celebrate their achievements.

Vice Chancellor, Professor John G. Hughes said: “Bangor University continues to place top priority on ensuring the best possible student experience- from the excellent academic expertise, innovative and diverse degree programmes, ever expanding facilities for teaching and research, and a dynamic social and sporting scene. Our graduates have worked hard and accomplished much. They have a great deal to look forward to, but we hope that they retain fond memories of Bangor University, and keep a close association with the University through their working lives.”

Also joining the new graduates at some of the ceremonies will be individuals who are receiving Honorary Fellowships from Bangor University.  

"Bangor University has a strong tradition of recognising, with the award of Honorary Fellowships, the achievements of various men and women in different walks of life. This year is no exception. Our Fellows will add great distinction and glamour to the ceremonies at which we also recognise the achievements of our students," said University Registrar, Dr David Roberts.

Those to be honoured are:                                                  

Bangor graduate Paul Feeney a leading international investment strategist with BNY Mellon Asset Management will receive an Honorary Fellowship for his services to the financial services industry. He will be introduced by Professor Phil Molyneux, Head of the College of Business, Social Sciences & Law.

is to receive an Honorary Fellowship for her services to Music. In 2009, Duffy won a Grammy Award for the best Pop Vocal Album and three Brit Awards. She is the first Welsh female recording artist to reach no 1 in the UK for over 25 years. Her 2008 debut album Rockferry entered the UK album chart at No 1 and has sold over two million copies. She was born and brought up in Nefyn in Gwynedd.  She will be introduced by Dr Llion Jones.

Rhys Jones, MBE receives an Honorary Fellowship for services to Music and the Community and will be presented by Mr Wyn Thomas, Pro Vice Chancellor.  Rhys Jones trained as a teacher at the Coleg Normal and taught Music and became deputy head of Ysgol Maes Garmon, Mold. He has become renowned as a teacher, conductor, accompanist, compere and broadcaster. He has founded and led many a choir and party, in particular Cantorion Gwalia, famed through Wales from the 50s to the 90s. This is the first time that we will be awarding an Honorary Fellowships to a father and daughter, as his daughter, Caryl Parry Jones, is already an Honorary Fellow of Bangor University.

Professor Laura McAllister, will be introduced by Dr Nichola Callow, of the School of Sport, Health & Exercise Sciences, and will receive an Honorary Fellowship for her services to Sport in Higher Education. Professor McAllister is Professor of Governance at Liverpool University and a leading authority on Welsh politics. Laura McAllister is also a former Wales football international (24 caps), and Chair of Sport Wales. She is a Board member of the Welsh Football Trust and an external advisor to Bangor University Sports and Recreation Strategy.

Prof Gwyn ThomasProf Gwyn ThomasBangor graduate and former Professor of Welsh at the University, Professor Gwyn Thomas will receive an Honorary Fellowship for his services to Welsh Literature. He will be presented by current Head of the School of Welsh, Professor Peredur Lynch.  A native of Blaenau Ffestiniog, Prof Thomas is a renowned poet and literary critic. And was National Poet of Wales in 2006/7.

John Herbert, Earl of Powis will receive an Honorary fellowship for his services to  literary studies and will be introduced by Prof Helen Wilcox of the School of English. The Earl of Powis is a descendant of the Welsh-born poet, George Herbert, one of the most renowned pastoral and religious poets of the seventeenth century. He is also a descendant of the first President of Bangor University. A former university teacher and researcher, he has collaborated extensively with academics in the University’s School of English.

Anglesey-born film and TV actor Julian Lewis Jones will receive an Honorary Fellowship for his services to drama. He will be introduced by Professor Stephanie Marriott of the School of Media and Creative Industries.  Julian Lewis Jones has starred in the 2009 Clint Eastwood film, Invictus, and in numerous TV dramas, including The Bill, Casualty, Holby City and Spooks – as well as Caerdydd, and Tipyn o Stad on S4C.


One of the oldest male voice choirs in Wales, the Penrhyn Choir, will join forces with staff and students of Bangor University to celebrate the centenary of the Main University Building today at 11.00. It will be exactly one hundred years to the day since King George V opened the impressive new building on a ridge above the city of Bangor. Penrhyn Choir will be giving a special performance during the morning Degree Ceremony, at which over 200 students will graduate.

University Registrar Dr David Roberts said: “The link between the slate quarrymen of north west Wales and the establishment of the university in Bangor is one of the great, inspiring features of University’s history. The Penrhyn quarrymen – and many other working people of North Wales – gave, often from meagre wages, to support the campaign for higher education in North Wales, and it is very fitting that the Penrhyn Choir will help us to celebrate this particular centenary,”

The Penrhyn Choir will perform three pieces during the ceremony:

  • Y Bryniau Melynion by Gareth Glyn (words by Ieuan Wyn)
  • Benedictus by Robat Arwyn
  • Gwahoddiad arranged by John Tudor Davies

The Penrhyn Choir will be conducted by Owain Arwel Davies, who originates from the Ogwen Valley, graduated from Bangor University and is now Head of Music at Ysgol Tryfan in Bangor. The accompanist will be Olwen Jones, a native of Anglesey and former student of the Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama in Cardiff.

During the Degree ceremonies four members of academic staff will be awarded Teaching Fellowships in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the teaching and pastoral care of students.

Nominations for teaching Fellowships are made by both staff and students and considered by a Panel.

Receiving Teaching Fellowships this year are Mrs Anne McLaren, of the School of Law, Dr Rosanna Robinson, School of Biological Sciences and Dr Jim Bennell of the School of Ocean Sciences and Dr Fay Short, School of Psychology. 

Further stories about successful graduating students will be added here as they are published:  http://www.bangor.ac.uk/studentlife/news/grad_2011.php.en

Publication date: 8 July 2011