Coronavirus (Covid-19) Information

Research, Innovation and Impact Office (RIIO) Staff

Important Announcement

The Research, Innovation and Impact Office remains open and is currently able to deliver all services as normal. A significant number of staff will be delivering these services via Homeworking so response times may be a little slower but we are confident that our systems are robust enough to maintain adequate services. Please contact RIIO staff by their Bangor University e-mails as office telephones will be largely unanswered.

Senior Management

Professor David Thomas Pro Vice Chancellor (Research and Impact) d.thomas@bangor.ac.uk 2878 / 3119
Dr Garry Reid Director Research, Innovation and Impact Office (RIIO) g.reid@bangor.ac.uk 2602

RIIO Finance & Administrative

Vacant Clerical Officer
   

Pre-award Team

Management

Dr Cornelia Thomas Head of Pre-Award c.thomas@bangor.ac.uk 8112

College Research Support Officers

Dr Michelle Jones
(09:00 to 2:45 daily)  
College Research Support Officer, CoESE michelle.jones@bangor.ac.uk 3738
Sandra Begley (Four days a week) College Research Support Officer, CoHS s.begley@bangor.ac.uk 2124
Dr Hazel Robbins
(Monday - Wednesday)
College Research Support Officer, CoAHB h.robbins@bangor.ac.uk 8142
Dr Aggie Turlo
(Monday - Friday mornings)
College Research Support Officer a.turlo@bangor.ac.uk 8166

Project Proposal Costings Team

Manager

Clare Williams Project Accountant – Research Funds Manager c.e.williams@bangor.ac.uk 2047

Costing Administration

Rachel Roberts
(Monday and Tuesday
08:30 – 17:00

Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
08:30 – 14:30)
Pre-Award Costing Officer
preaward@bangor.ac.uk 3256

European Funding and Horizon 2020 Support

James Goodman Structural and Regional Development Funds Manager j.f.goodman@bangor.ac.uk 2278
Dr Cornelia Thomas European and International Programmes Manager c.thomas@bangor.ac.uk 8112

REF (Research Excellence Framework) and Impact

Claire Davis Research Assessment Manager
Research Excellence Framework
c.davis@bangor.ac.uk 8518
Dr Saskia Pagella (works part time Monday to Friday) Impact and UKRI Manager s.l.pagella@bangor.ac.uk 2600
Dr Hilary Ford Engagement and Impact Officer Hilary.ford@bangor.ac.uk 2443
Paul Edwards Engagement and Impact Officer paul.edwards@bangor.ac.uk 3216

Post- Award Team

Non-Structural Funds Projects

Manager

Clare Williams Project Accountant – Research Funds Manager c.e.williams@bangor.ac.uk 2047

UK Research Councils (AHRC, BBSRC, ESRC, MRC, NERC, STFC)

Eleri Jones Project Finance Officer eleri.wyn.jones@bangor.ac.uk 8228

UK Government

Healthcare Sciences

Neil Harold Health and Medical Funds Officer n.harold@bangor.ac.uk 8713

All other Schools

Clare Williams Project Accountant – Research Funds Manager c.e.williams@bangor.ac.uk 2047

UK Charities (British Academy, Leverhulme Trust, Royal Society etc)

Annwen Hughes (temporary) Project Finance Officer charity.grants@bangor.ac.uk. 2659

European Commission Funding (Horizon 2020, etc)

Gareth Jones Accountancy Assistant g.jones@bangor.ac.uk 3789

Industry, Overseas organisations and all other sponsor types

Sonia Owen Project Finance Officer sonia.owen@bangor.ac.uk 2856

Structural Funds Projects

Manager

Ben Davies Project Accountant – Structural Funds Manager r.b.v.davies@bangor.ac.uk 8495

KESS 2 (Knowledge Economy Skills Scholarships 2)

Brian Murcutt KESS 2 Project Co-ordinator b.murcutt@bangor.ac.uk    2162
Dawn Davies KESS 2 Senior Finance Officer d.davies@bangor.ac.uk 2846
Iwan Jones KESS 2 Project Clerical Officer iwan.jones@bangor.ac.uk 8863

All other Structural Funds Projects

Patrick Lehane Project Accountant p.lehane@bangor.ac.uk 8227
Rose Williams Project Finance Officer m.r.williams@bangor.ac.uk 2253
Unfilled/Vacant Project Finance Officer   8482
Kimberley Edwards (Maternity) Clerical Officer k.edwards@bangor.ac.uk 3286
Ariadni Zolota Clerical Officer a.zolota@bangor.ac.uk 8474

Contracts

Manager

Anita Thomas Contracts Manager anita.thomas@bangor.ac.uk 8525

Contracts Administration

Jackie Davies

Contracts Administrator contracts@bangor.ac.uk 3624

Innovation Team

Bryn Jones Head of Knowledge Exchange bryn.jones@bangor.ac.uk 3887
Kathryn Caine Knowledge Exchange Support Officer kathryn.caine@bangor.ac.uk 8239
James Goodman Structural and Regional Development Funds Manager j.f.goodman@bangor.ac.uk 2278
Debbie Jones Research Partnership Project Officer (North Wales Growth Deal and Strength in Places) debbie.l.jones@bangor.ac.uk 2474
Gareth Mayhead Commercialisation and Consultancy Manager gmayhead@bangor.ac.uk 8847
Katie Thomas Skills Development Manager katie.thomas@bangor.ac.uk 8575
Tudur Williams Business Development Manager (KTPs and Smart Expertise) t.t.williams@bangor.ac.uk 8492

KESS 2 (Knowledge Economy Skills Scholarships 2)

Dr Penny Dowdney KESS 2 Wales Manager p.j.dowdney@bangor.ac.uk 2266
Sandra Lloyd Roberts KESS 2 Monitoring Officer s.l.roberts@bangor.ac.uk 2501
Caroline Barton KESS 2 Project Support Officer c.barton@bangor.ac.uk 3582
Mererid Haf Gordon KESS 2 Marketing, Design & Publicity Officer m.h.gordon@bangor.ac.uk 8715

University Doctoral School

Dr Penny Dowdney Doctoral School Manager p.j.dowdney@bangor.ac.uk 2266
Aashu Jayadeep Doctoral School Administrator a.jayadeep@bangor.ac.uk 2357

Research and Enterprise Partnership builds on the international research reputations and capabilities of Aberystwyth University (AU) and Bangor University (BU) and aims to enhance their competitiveness and to create a sustainable world-class research base in North and Mid-Wales. Please see: http://aberbangorstrategicalliance.ac.uk/