Research, Innovation and Impact Office (RIIO) Staff

Senior Management

Professor David Thomas Interim Pro Vice Chancellor (Research) 2878 / 3119
Dr Garry Reid Director Research, Innovation and Impact Office (RIIO) 2602

RIIO Finance & Administrative

Vacant Clerical Officer

Pre-award Team


Dr Cornelia Thomas Head of Pre-Award 8112

College Research Support Officers

Dr Michelle Jones
(09:00 to 2:45 daily)  
College Research Support Officer, CoESE 3738
Sandra Begley (Four days a week) College Research Support Officer, CoHS 2124
Dr Hazel Robbins
(Monday - Wednesday)
College Research Support Officer, CoAHB 8142
Dr Aggie Turlo
(Monday - Friday mornings)
College Research Support Officer 8166

Project Proposal Costings Team


Clare Williams Project Accountant – Research Funds Manager 2047

Costing Administration

Rachel Roberts
(Monday and Tuesday
08:30 – 17:00

Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
08:30 – 14:30)
Pre-Award Costing Officer 3256

European Funding and Horizon 2020 Support

James Goodman Structural and Regional Development Funds Manager 2278
Dr Cornelia Thomas European and International Programmes Manager 8112

REF (Research Excellence Framework) and Impact

Claire Davis Research Assessment Manager
Research Excellence Framework 8518
Dr Saskia Pagella (works part time Monday to Friday) Impact and UKRI Manager 2600
Dr Hilary Ford Engagement and Impact Officer 2443
Soo Vinnicombe Project Manager – ESRC Impact Acceleration Account (IAA) 8470

Post- Award Team

Non-Structural Funds Projects


Clare Williams Project Accountant – Research Funds Manager 2047

UK Research Councils (AHRC, BBSRC, ESRC, MRC, NERC, STFC)

Eleri Jones Project Finance Officer 8228

UK Government

Healthcare Sciences

Neil Harold Health and Medical Funds Officer 8713

All other Schools

Clare Williams Project Accountant – Research Funds Manager 2047

UK Charities (British Academy, Leverhulme Trust, Royal Society etc)

Annwen Hughes (temporary) Project Finance Officer 2659

European Commission Funding (Horizon 2020, etc)

Gareth Jones Accountancy Assistant 3789

Industry, Overseas organisations and all other sponsor types

Sonia Owen Project Finance Officer 2856

Structural Funds Projects


Ben Davies Project Accountant – Structural Funds Manager 8495

KESS 2 (Knowledge Economy Skills Scholarships 2)

Brian Murcutt KESS 2 Project Co-ordinator    2162
Dawn Davies KESS 2 Senior Finance Officer 2846
Iwan Jones KESS 2 Project Clerical Officer 8863

All other Structural Funds Projects

Patrick Lehane Project Accountant 8227
Rose Williams Project Finance Officer 2253
Unfilled/Vacant Project Finance Officer   8482
Kimberley Edwards (Maternity) Clerical Officer 3286
Ariadni Zolota Clerical Officer 8474



Anita Thomas Contracts Manager 8525

Contracts Administration

Unfilled/Vacant Contracts Administrator    

Innovation Team

Bryn Jones Head of Knowledge Exchange 3887
Kathryn Caine Knowledge Exchange Support Officer 8239
James Goodman Structural and Regional Development Funds Manager 2278
Debbie Jones Research Partnership Project Officer (North Wales Growth Deal and Strength in Places) 2474
Gareth Mayhead Commercialisation and Consultancy Manager 8847
Katie Thomas Skills Development Manager 8575
Tudur Williams Business Development Manager (KTPs and Smart Expertise) 8492

KESS 2 (Knowledge Economy Skills Scholarships 2)

Dr Penny Dowdney KESS 2 Wales Manager 2266
Sandra Lloyd Roberts KESS 2 Monitoring Officer 2501
Caroline Barton KESS 2 Project Support Officer 3582
Mererid Haf Gordon KESS 2 Marketing, Design & Publicity Officer 8715

University Doctoral School

Dr Penny Dowdney Doctoral School Manager 2266
Aashu Jayadeep Doctoral School Administrator 2357

Research and Enterprise Partnership builds on the international research reputations and capabilities of Aberystwyth University (AU) and Bangor University (BU) and aims to enhance their competitiveness and to create a sustainable world-class research base in North and Mid-Wales. Please see: