University Management and Governance

The role of the Council

The principal role of the Council is to set the general strategy, policy and direction of the University. There is a clear boundary between ‘governance’ and ‘management’ and members of Council will not be involved in day-to-day executive management of the University which is undertaken by the Executive. The Council’s role is set out in an agreed Statement of Primary Responsibilites. Information on Council sub-committees and on the conduct of Council business is available in the Guide for Members of the Council.

The Council has a small number of sub-committees to assist members to discharge their functions as governors.

  • Audit & Risk Committee
  • Welsh Language Strategy Committee
  • Health and Safety Committee
  • Nominations & Governance Committee
  • Remuneration Committee
  • Finance & Strategy Committee

Further information about governance is contained in the Council Guide for members. Individuals who are interested in being considered for membership of the Council or its sub-committees should contact the Deputy Secretary, Mrs Gwenan Hine, Head of Governance Services. Council membership carries no remuneration, but the University pays reasonable travel and related expenses.

Governance Effectiveness Review and Action Plan    
Governance Effectiveness Review Report 

The Court

The Court is the stakeholder group for Bangor University, and provides a forum in which members of the community can interact with the University. The Pro-Chancellor Professor Gareth Roberts presides over the meeting, which includes representatives from local authorities, members of parliament and members of the Senedd, the local health board, university alumni representatives, as well as other key stakeholders. The Court meets at least once a year.

For further information on the Court please contact Mrs Gwenan Hine, Head of Governance Services.

The Executive

The Executive is the University’s senior management group, and is responsible for the overall management and administration of the University.

The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Iwan Davies, chairs the University Executive, which comprises:

Secretary to the Executive: Mrs Gwenan Hine - Head of Governance Services.

Council / Executive Register of Interest


    It looks like you’re visiting from outside the UK, would you like to be redirected to the international page?