Inner quad at Bangor University

The University Council


The principal role of the Council is to set the general strategy, policy and direction of the University. There is a clear boundary between ‘governance’ and ‘management’ and members of Council will not be involved in day-to-day executive management of the University, which is undertaken by the Executive. The Council’s role is set out in an agreed Composition and Terms of Reference document. 

The Council has a number of sub-committees which provide assurance to the Council in a number of areas, and assist Council members in discharging their functions as Trustees:

  • Audit & Risk Committee
  • Welsh Language Strategy Committee
  • Health and Safety Committee
  • Nominations & Governance Committee
  • Remuneration Committee
  • Finance & Strategy Committee
  • People & Culture Committee

Individuals who are interested in being considered as Independent Members of the Council or for co-option on one of its sub-committees should contact the Secretary to the Council, Mrs Gwenan Hine.  In addition to serving on the governing body, Independent Members are also expected to serve on one or more of the Council’s sub-committees. The role will therefore require a time commitment of 1 to 2 days per month and is not remunerated.


The Council’s membership is as follows:

Independent Members of Council

(click here for Biographical Details)

  • Chair:  Mrs Marian Wyn Jones
  • Mr Atul Devani
  • Mr Eric Hepburn
  • Vice-Admiral Sir Paul Lambert
  • Mrs Alison Lea-Wilson
  • Ms Julie Perkins
  • Dr Ian Rees
  • Professor Jean White
  • Professor Tim Wheeler, DL
  • Ms Elin Wyn
  • Professor David Viner

Ex-Officio members of the Council

Appointed by Senate

Appointed by Academic Staff

Appointed by Non-academic Staff

  • Mr Paul Wood

Secretary to the Council

  • Mrs Gwenan Hine

It looks like you’re visiting from outside the UK, would you like to be redirected to the international page?