Coronavirus (Covid-19) Information

Lay members of the Council

Marian Wyn Jones – Chair of CouncilMarian Wyn Jones

Marian Wyn Jones is an award-winning journalist & documentary filmmaker, Marian had an extensive career at the BBC before developing a career as a Non-Executive Director at the highest level of public life, including the Snowdonia National Park Authority, Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board, where she chairs the Finance and Performance Committee, and the Arts Council ofWales, where she is Vice-Chair. She has also served on the governing bodies of several other charities and education establishments. She has previously served as a member of the Council, and as a result has a deep understanding of the University and the challenges facing the higher education sector.

A fluent Welsh speaker, Marian was raised in mid Wales and educated at Aberystwyth and London. She has lived in North Wales for over 30 years. Her interests include music and theatre, and she enjoys walking the Welsh countryside as well supporting the Wales football team.

Dr Tomos DafyddDr Tomos Dafydd

Until recently Dr Tomos Dafydd was a Special Advisor to the Secretary of State for Wales. He is now working in the City. He has previous experience in the Civil Service and the BBC. Dr Dafydd is a Welsh speaker and graduate and lecturer at Aberystwyth University.

Dr Peter HigsonDr Peter Higson

Dr Higson began his career in the health sector as tutor on the North Wales Clinical Training Course at Bangor University in the mid 1980s before being appointed Course Co-Director in 1987 and Course Director in 1989.

He was appointed Deputy Chief Executive of the Clwydian Trust in 1993 where he remained until he joined the North Wales Health Authority as Director of Patient Care in 1998.

In May 2004 he was appointed as the Chief Executive of Healthcare Inspectorate Wales (HIW), having had a two-year secondment to ELWa, the Welsh Assembly sponsored public body in charge of post-16 education and training in Wales.

He is Chair of Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board.

Dr Griff JonesDr Griff Jones

Dr Griff Jones is a biochemist who, until his retirement, was a senior manager at the Peboc site of Eastman Chemicals in Llangefni. He was Chair of the governing body of Coleg Menai from 2009–2012, and is now Vice-Chair of Grwp Llandrillo-Menai. He has served on the University’s Audit & Risk Committee for a number of years.

Dr Karen JonesDr Karen Jones

Former Marketing Director and Vice-President of BAE Systems. Trained as a microbiologist at University College Hospital, London. She has worked for British Aerospace, bioMerieux and Medeva plc. She has experience of implementing educational, cultural and technological programmes in various parts of the world.

Marc Proudlove JonesMarc Proudlove Jones

Mr Marc Proudlove Jones was raised on, and is now managing, the family farm in Mathrafal, Meifod, which hosted the National Eisteddfod in 2003 and 2015. He is an investment banker with a 30-year career with JPMorgan and RBS. He has extensive international experience across Europe and the Far East, including nine years in Hong Kong. He is a member of the Investment Advisory Committee of Keble College Oxford.

Vice Admiral Sir Paul LambertSir Paul Lambert

Vice Admiral Sir Paul Lambert has strategic, financial and leadership skills which have been gained in a series of high profile roles and appointments in Whitehall and the Charitable Sector. He is currently Secretary General of St John International and was previously Deputy Chief Defence Staff (Capability), responsible for equipment and support budget of £14bn and providing independent advice to Ministers. He was Knighted in 2012 and is committed to lifelong learning. He has extensive international experience.

Mrs Alison Lea-WilsonMrs Alison Lea-Wilson

Mrs Alison Lea-Wilson is founder of the Anglesey Sea Zoo and Director of Halen Mon. She is a Bangor University graduate and has recently been made an Honorary Fellow of the University.

Julie Perkins

Ms Julie Perkins is a Bangor alumna and is Director of Systems at the Lloyds Banking Group. She is an IT professional, experienced in programme management and transformational change and is passionate about championing diversity.



Ms Ellen Parry WilliamsMs Ellen Parry Williams

Ellen Parry Williams represents the Old Students’ Association on the Council. A graduate of the Welsh department, she was employed in the University as a Librarian from 1971 to 2005. She was also Warden of Neuadd Rathbone (1993–2001) and of Neuadd Rathbone and Neuadd John Morris-Jones (2001–2003).

Professor Gareth RobertsDr Olwen Williams

Gareth Ffowc Roberts was Principal of Coleg Normal Bangor (1994-96), thereafter pro Vice-Chancellor (1996-2005). He was Professor of Education (2000-2005) at Bangor University and is now Emeritus Professor at the University.

He has specialised in mathematics education with a particular emphasis on bilingual education. He worked as Mathematics Adviser to Gwynedd County Council before being appointed to Coleg Normal Bangor. 

He has contributed extensively to the popularisation of mathematics, in articles and books and in the media. In 2010 he was awarded the Science and Technology Medal by the National Eisteddfod for his contributions to mathematics. At the Eisteddfod in Wrexham in 2011, he was accepted as a member of the Assembly of Bards. In 2016 he was elected Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales (FLSW).  He is currently editor of ‘Scientists of Wales’, published by the University of Wales Press, a series that celebrates the role of science and technology in Welsh history.

He has continued to be extremely supportive of the University both internally and within the wider community.


Dr Ian Rees

Dr Rees is a former Principal of Coleg Menai and Senior Director with responsibility for External Affairs with Grŵp Llandrillo Menai. Prior to this he was Principal/Chief Executive of Coleg Meirion-Dwyfor and Head of Ysgol y Moelwyn, Blaenau Ffestiniog.

Over the years he has also been a director of a number of bodies, including Nant Gwrtheyrn Language Centre, Fforwm and the Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol. He has also been a member of ELWa’s Mid Wales Regional Committee.

Between 2006 and 2012 he was a member of the Arts Council of Wales. He was Vice-Chair of the Council, and chair of the audit and risk Committee between 2009 and 2012.