Coronavirus (Covid-19) Information

Professor Appointed to Welsh Language Partnership Council

Prof Enlli ThomasProf Enlli ThomasProfessor Enlli Thomas, Head of the School of Education has been appointed a member of the new Welsh Language Partnership Council by Alun Davies, Welsh Government Minister for Lifelong Learning and Welsh Language.

The Council was established under Section 149 of the Welsh Language (Wales) Measure 2011 and its primary role is to give advice and make representations to the Welsh Ministers in relation to Welsh Language matters. The period of the first Welsh language Partnership Council came to an end on 31 March 2017.

Alun Davies said: “I was pleased with the positive response we had to the recent appointments process. The quality of the candidates and the breadth of expertise offered was exceptionally high, and the decision of who to appoint was not easy. I have therefore appointed 10 members, and I am grateful to them for accepting the invite to serve on the Partnership Council.”

Professor Enlli Thomas said:

“This is a great opportunity to be part of a team which will offer expertise in delivering the new language strategy. The team includes individuals who have a wide range of expertise and my 20 years’ experience of research in language development and bilingualism from a psycholinguistic, sociolinguistic and educational perspective will certainly be relevant.”

Joining Enlli Thomas on the new Council are Simon Brooks, Owen Derbyshire, Rhian Huws-Williams, Dewi Jones, Gwion Lewis, Angharad Lloyd-Williams, Rhodri Llwyd Morgan, Gwynedd Parry and Marian Thomas. The new members will commence on 1 July 2017 for a three year period.

Publication date: 3 July 2017