School of Psychology Seminar Series

Past Seminars: 2015–2016

Psychology Seminar Series (PSS)

Unless stated otherwise, all seminars take place in Brigantia 342 at 4:00pm

Organiser: Patricia Bestelmeyer

Join mailing list

  • Friday 9 October 2015

    Dr Ken Valyear, Bangor

    Title: Grasping with a new hand

    Host: Prof Paul Downing

  • Thursday 15 October 2015

    Dr Jiehu Hu, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China

    Title: Cognitive control in language processing

    Host: Prof Guillaume Thierry

  • Friday 16 October 2015

    Dr Laurence White, Plymouth University

    Title: Beating the bounds: Are there universal prosodic cues to speech structure?

    Host: Prof Debbie Mills

  • Friday 23 October 2015

    Dr Rene Westerhausen, University of Bergen

    Title: Always right? The ear advantage in dichotic listening.

    Host: Dr David Carey

  • Friday 30 October 2015

    Dr Stephen Mayhew, University of Birmingham

    Title: Using EEG-fMRI to investigate the origins of negative and post-stimulus fMRI responses

    Host: Dr Paul Mullins

  • Friday 6 November 2015

    Dr Anthony Atkinson, University of Durham

    Title: fMRI and dynamic causal modelling reveals a hierarchical feedforward and feedback neural network for understanding emotional actions

    Host: Dr Kami Koldewyn

  • Friday 13 November 2015

    Dr Scott Frey, Washington University

    Title: Civil union between cognitive neuroscience and neurorehabilitation: snapshots from research involving current and former hand amputees.

    Host: Dr Ken Valyear

  • Friday 20 November 2015

    Prof David French, The University of Manchester

    Title: How to help older adults to maintain increases in physical activity (when most do not).

    Host: Prof Val Morrison

  • Friday 27 November 2015

    Dr Clara Martin, Basque Center on Cognition, Brain and Language

    Title: Interlocutors’ faces prime language activation in bilinguals

    Host: Prof Guillaume Thierry

  • Friday 4 December 2015

    Dr Susanne Quadflieg, University of Bristol

    Title: Witnessing Social Interactions

    Host: Dr Emily Cross

  • Friday 11 December 2015

    Dr Daniela Sammler, Max Planck Institute, Leipzig

    Title: Voice or words - The neural contribution of prosody to communication

    Host: Dr Emily Cross

  • Friday 18 December 2015

    Prof Kenneth Hugdahl, University of Bergen

    Title: Auditory hallucinations: The perception of voices that do not exist

    Host: Dr David Carey

  • Friday 22 January 2016

    Dr Emily Cross, Bangor University

    Title: Robots on the Brain and Brains in Robots?: Social Neuroscience Perspectives on How We Perceive and Interact with Artificial Agents

    Host: N/A

  • Friday 29 January 2016

    Dr Peter Lovatt, University of Hertfordshire

    Title: Dance for Parkinson's: investigations into two forms of dance on problem solving and wellbeing

    Host: Dr Emily Cross

  • Friday 5 February 2016

    Dr Bob Kentridge, University of Durham

    Title: Sensation, perception, and awareness.

    Host: Dr Patricia Bestelmeyer

  • Friday 12 February 2016

    Prof Robert Rogers, Bangor University

    Title: What can neuropsychology tell us about psychopathy?

    Host: Prof John Parkinson

  • Friday 19 February 2016

    No speaker scheduled.

    Title: Slot available

    Host: N/A

  • Friday 26 February 2016

    Prof Giuseppe di Pellegrino, Università di Bologna

    Title: Surprise signals in medial prefrontal cortex: evidence from ERP studies

    Host: Prof Paul Downing

  • Friday 4 March 2016

    Dr Kristina Moll, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Munich

    Title: Comorbidity of Learning Disorders

    Host: Dr Manon Jones

  • Friday 11 March 2016

    Prof Pieter Medendorp, Donders Institute

    Title: Multisensory integration for stable perception and action control

    Host: Dr Ken Valyear

  • Friday 18 March 2016

    Dr Anastasia Christakou, University of Reading

    Title: Flexible decision-making; cortico-subcortical contributions in typical and atypical development.

    Host: Dr Paul Mullins

  • Thursday 14 April 2016

    Prof Dr Frank van Overwalle, Vrije Universiteit Brussel

    Title: Belief and trait attribution in the social brain ****RM146

    Host: Dr Richard Ramsey

  • Friday 22 April 2016

    Dr Amanda Ellison, University of Durham

    Title: Current classic conundrum of convergent coherence in cranial communication capacity considered

    Host: Dr David Carey

  • Friday 29 April 2016

    Prof Dr Mariët Hagedoorn, Universitair Medisch Centrum Groningen

    Title: Intimate relationships in the face of illness

    Host: Prof Val Morrison

  • Friday 6 May 2016

    Prof Dave Snowden, Bangor University

    Title: Distributed ethnography and ‘nudge’ economics

    Host: Prof John Parkinson

  • Friday 13 May 2016

    Dr Aikaterini Fotopoulou, University College London

    Title: Bodily Egocentricity and Allocentricity: From Anosognosia to Anorexia

    Host: Prof Oliver Turnbull

  • Friday 20 May 2016

    Gary Oppenheim, Bangor

    Title: Implicit incremental learning in novel and familiar word production

    Host:

  • Friday 27 May 2016

    Dr Jon Andoni Dunabeitia, Basque Center on Cognition, Brain and Language

    Title: Emotions and foreign languages, oil and water

    Host: Prof Guillaume Thierry

  • Friday 3 June 2016

    Prof Jody Culham, Western University

    Title: Neural representations for real objects and hand actions in the human brain

    Host: Dr Ken Valyear

  • Wednesday 8 June 2016

    PUBLIC LECTURE - Giuseppe Di Pellegrino, Center for Studies and Research in Cognitive Neuroscience – Department of Psychology, University of Bologna - Italy

    Title: How do we make choices? Lessons from neuropsychology

    Host: Paul Downing

Bilingualism Seminar Series (BSS)

BSS talks take place in the Duncan Tanner Seminar Room, Centre for Research in Bilingualism, 37 College Road (access through Brigantia)

Organiser: Dr Marie-Josephe Tainturier

Join mailing list

  • Monday 9 November 2015

    Guillaume Thierry, Bangor

    Title: How neurophysiological exploration of the bilingual mind has shaped my conception of human freedom

    Host: Marie-Joseph Tainturier

  • Monday 23 November 2015

    Napoleon Katsos

    Title: Can people with ASD function successfully as bilinguals?

    Host: Cecile Barbet

  • Monday 7 December 2015

    Eirini Sanoudaki

    Title: Bilingual acquisition: research and implications

    Host: Marie-Joseph Tainturier

  • Monday 11 April 2016

    Jacob Finifrock

    Title: Trilingual Education in Rural China: Current Practice and Attitudes Towards Language in the Classroom

    Host: Josh Payne

  • Monday 25 April 2016

    Jacob Finifrock, Bangor

    Title: Trilingual Education in Rural China: Current Practice and Attitudes Towards Language in the Classroom

    Host: Dr Anne-Marie Smith, Bangor

  • Monday 23 May 2016

    Panos Athanasopoulos, Department of Linguistics and English Language, Lancaster University

    Title: Time Travel through Language

    Host: Guillaume Thierry