Coronavirus (Covid-19) Information

School of Computer Science and Electronic Engineering hosts a virtual celebration for graduates

On the 16th July 2020, the School of Computer Science and Electronic Engineering hosted a virtual celebration for the graduating students. A formal graduation ceremony is planned for 2021, but the School wanted to celebrateDr Iestyn Pierce, head of School, introducing the virtual celebrationDr Iestyn Pierce, head of School, introducing the virtual celebrationtheir graduating students and award prizes.

 Over 75 students and staff attended the celebration, which was live-streamed on Facebook and held in the Zoom video conference environment. Dr Iestyn Pierce, head of School, led the celebration and congratulated the students on their achievements. Dr Pierce said “It is an exciting time for our graduands, there are so many opportunities ahead for them, but we live in unprecedented times, which inhibited us from having a formal celebration this year. We wanted to organise something for these students and therefore organised this virtual event. We were so pleased to award prizes to the students, and to meet up with them again.”

The School awards several prizes, to acknowledge the huge effort that the students have put into their studies. Dr Dave Perkins, Director of Teaching and Learning, said “It has been a privilege to teach this cohort. This year we have taught many excellent students, and it was difficult to shortlist the students for the awards – we are proud of every one of our students. It was also great to have different academics introduce and make the awards”.

Some participants from the virtual celebrationSome participants from the virtual celebration

• We award the Paul Green Memorial Award, for the most meritorious undergraduate to Sioned Hughes.

• The Institute of Engineering and Technology award, for the best student on an IET accredited course was awarded to Moaath Alrabeea.

• Xianghui Zheng was awarded the Dr David Owen (for Physics) for most proficiency in Engineering-related Maths.

• Rory MacPherson scooped the Jan Abas Computer Graphics Prize - demonstrated the best use & understanding of Computer Graphics or related technologies in the final year of their course.

• The Prof David Last Memorial Award, for the most improved student in the School, was awarded to Joseph Morgan.

• The Dr Jane Rudall Award for Achievement and Progress prize, which is awarded to a student who has attained significant achievement(s) having pursued their studies with determination and effort, is awarded to Casey Nolan.

• We also announce that Gareth Parry-Jones was nominated by the School for the John Robert Jones University Prize.

Publication date: 21 July 2020