Honorary Fellows

Click on the names below for a profile of just some of the University’s most famous Honorary Fellows:

Other Honorary Fellows include:

  • Frances Barber
  • Catrin Finch
  • Tim Haines
  • Mark Hughes
  • Aled Jones
  • Matthew Maynard
  • Philip Pullman
  • Bryn Terfel
  • Carol Vorderman

Honorary Degrees

The University also has authority to award Honorary Degrees. It has chosen to use this power to mark very special occasions, and only four persons have so far received this honour. To celebrate the 125th anniversary of its foundation, the University decided to award honorary doctorates to four individuals of world renown whose contributions over a long period were considered to be of major international significance. The special ceremony to award the Honorary Doctorates took place on 10 June 2009, and those honoured were: