Coronavirus (Covid-19) Information

Bangor University new Honorary Fellows announced

The scene is set for a Graduation Ceremony at the University's Pritchard Jones Hall.The scene is set for a Graduation Ceremony at the University's Pritchard Jones Hall.Bangor University has announced the Honorary Fellowships to be awarded during the University’s Graduation ceremonies this year. The Honorary Fellowships will be presented during ceremonies during the week 15-19 July 2019.

Honorary Fellowships enable the University to rewards individuals who have made significant contribution in their chosen field. Honorary Fellows are chosen from among those who work within Wales or have a link with the University.

Acting Vice Chancellor, Professor Graham Upton, commented:

“I’m particularly looking forward to congratulating all our successful graduating students in the forthcoming Degree ceremonies and am delighted that Bangor University is rewarding and marking the significant contributions made by our new Honorary Fellows. Each has made valued contributions in the arts, business academia or our wider society, and their achievements are to be celebrated. We hope that they serve as an inspiration to our graduating students, encouraging them to strive to achieve their goals, whatever they may be.”

Elan Closs Stephens CBE, throughout her career she has demonstrated a passionate commitment and service to the creative industries, especially in Wales. This is evidenced most recently through her membership on the BBC Unitary Board where she represent the interests of Wales – For services to Creative Industries

President Liao, an academic, demonstrating a passionate commitment and service to higher education including internationalisation of education at CSUFT and Bangor College China  - For service to International Education

Angela Gardner, an alumnus, demonstrated a passionate commitment to her profession and specifically to identifying and developing executive talent. She has also made a significant contribution to furthering diversity in the workplace - For Services to Leadership Development and Diversity

Rhian Davies, an alumnus, throughout her career she has demonstrated a passionate commitment and service to her profession, most recently through her leadership of the Gregynog Festival and her restoration to the repertory of the composer Morfydd Owen – For services to Music

Karin Lochte, an alumnus, renowned for her commitment to international marine science and specifically her leadership roles at the Alfred Wegener Institute and, most recently, her membership on the NERC Council – For services to Marine Biology

Gareth Wyn Jones, an alumnus, a long association with Bangor University as a student and researcher under Professor Charles Evans, as a lecturer and one of the founders and leader of the Centre for Arid Zones Studies at Bangor - For services to the Environment

Catrin Stevens, for her contribution to Welsh life through her published works, activism and commitment to the Welsh language and culture - For services to Heritage and Culture

Judge Meleri Tudur, a distinguished judge, appointed as a Deputy President of the Health Education and Social Care Chamber of the First-tier Tribunal, Judge Tudur will have responsibility for the Special Educational Needs and Disability, Care Standards and Primary Health Lists Jurisdiction within that Chamber – For services to Law

Chris Roberts, a pioneer and an advocate in the citizenship movement within dementia and a leading figure in the UK and in an international context, establishing a series of innovative initiatives across both the local and international communities of people living with dementia – For Services to Research, Health and Social Care

Edward (Johnny) Johnston, an alumnus and internationally-acclaimed expert, whose contributions throughout a long career have been critical to the understanding of basic processes in soil fertility and crop nutrition, providing much of the basis of soil quality and sustainable agriculture research - For Services to Agricultural Science

Publication date: 18 June 2019