Healthcare and Medical Sciences Academic Ethics Committee

On this page you will find all the information you need to submit your proposal to the Healthcare and Medical Academic Ethics Committee.

Guidance can be found here.

Cyfarwyddydd yn Gymraeg

Guidance for Reviewers

Submit to the Healthcare and Medical Sciences Academic Ethics Committee

Please click on the link below and log into the electronic submission system using your usual Bangor University username and password.

https://apps.bangor.ac.uk/ethics/

Research Governance

Even if you do not submit your project for ethical approval you are still required to inform the School of Health Sciences that the research is taking place using one of the methods outlined below.

Project Registration for Literature and Systematic Review Research

Although there is no need to submit literature or systematic review research for ethical approval you are still required to notify the AEC that you are undertaking the research by clicking the link below and completing the registration form.

Project Registration/Review for Secondary Data Analysis

Projects involving the analysis of secondary data may still require ethical approval.  Please download the Project Registration/Review Form here, and submit to the Chair of the Ethics Committee for consideration, along with a copy of your research proposal.   Further guidance on secondary data analysis is included in the Research Policy.  You can contact the Chair of the Ethics Committee, Lynne Williams, at lynne.williams@bangor.ac.uk.

Project Registration and Radiation Register for Experiments Based in X-ray Room

The Project Registration and Radiation Register form can be downloaded here.  Please complete the form and submit to the designated Radiation Protection Supervisor for approval.  The signed copy should then be submitted to the Chair of the Ethics Committee.   You can contact the Chair of the Ethics Committee Lynne Williams, at lynne.williams@bangor.ac.uk.

Useful Resources

Bangor University Guidance

Dr Lynne Williams (Chair) lynne.williams@bangor.ac.uk

Professor Paul Brocklehurst p.brocklehurst@bangor.ac.uk

Dr Huw Roberts huw.roberts@bangor.ac.uk

Guidance for Completing Electronic Submission

Resources for Clinical Trials

NHS Guidance

Research Passport

Patient and Public Participation

Contact us

Governance -Sadia Nafees s.nafees@bangor.ac.uk

Language awareness and sensitivity Beryl Cooledge b.cooledge@bangor.ac.uk

Data protection David Coyle d.coyle@bangor.ac.uk

Sponsor representative for trials Huw Roberts (huw.roberts@bangor.ac.uk)

You can contact the AEC administrators by e-mail at hcmsethics@bangor.ac.uk

Or by telephone:

For taught programmes contact -Susan Metcalfe 01248 383112

For research programmes & staff contact - Nyree Hulme 01248 383162